New Zealand is Natures Best

Fern in Abel Tasman National Park New Zealand is a pretty special place. I am very fortunate to have grown up in this amazing country. From a very young age, I have been filled with adventure, to explore, to see, to learn. There is so much on offer in New Zealand for these things, and having spent a lot of time away, I have returned with an enhanced appreciation for the natural beauty of this country that I call home. Growing up, sometimes I would take it for granted, and I know many other of my Kiwi friends did too. It wasn’t until we travelled overseas to really see how lucky we were. The natural sights that I have seen overseas are very incredible, but there is just something a little bit special about the purity and serenity of the sights in New Zealand that sets them apart. Maybe its just the physical connection to the country from being born here, but whatever it is, it sure is special.

Our country is a playground filled with amazing National Parks that contain native bush, clear flowing rivers, peaceful reflective lakes, rugged mountains, incredible coastlines, lush green rolling hillsides, and everything in-between. It really is a natural paradise. And one of the greatest things is that most of it is all very accessible for the everyday New Zealander. Whatever the season, whatever the weather, there are amazing places to see. Climbing to mighty peaks, walking along lakes and rivers, taking a dip in a fresh pool along a river, camping by the ocean and waking to the crashing of the waves and morning song of the native birds. It’s hard to find reasons not to want to enjoy these experiences.

What these experiences and adventure have done for me, is they have kept me grounded. It gives me that feeling of something a lot bigger than me. When you are out in the bush, or on the mountainside with no sight or sound of civilization, and just you and your vulnerable self and thoughts, you seem so small and insignificant, it grounds you. It brings you back down and connects you with this greater life around you. It gives you peace in thought and self, taking you far, far away from any struggles or concerns in your life and just lets you be for awhile. The refreshing feeling of a light southerly breeze across your face as you sit there and admire the breathtaking beauty of your surroundings, that is something I find to be life’s special moments.

The biggest concern I have is the longevity of many places due to the popularity of the attractions. A little respect can go a very long way to ensuring that future generations are afforded the same opportunity to set sight on the natural beauty of this country. However, I still encourage all Kiwis to get out there and truly make the most of this wonderful playground that we have on offer here, I just hope that you leave it better than you found it so that it stays beautiful for years and years to come.

 

 

 

Leave a comment